Hugs-Horror-Hero-Hope

HUGS

It was the last day of school. On my drive to school, I was a little emotional for it was my last day with students as their campus principal. It’s been a rewarding career with many wonderful memories. My campus is in rural east Texas where the people are the salt of the earth.

As I entered the school that day, I noticed the staff were wearing green t-shirts that read – HUGS! Hugs is the closing salutation that I use on my staff newsletters. I have used this word throughout the 30 plus years in my career. Truly, this touched me beyond measure.

We finished up our last awards assemblies and gave our HUGS & GOODBYES to our students. It’s hard to say goodbye especially to our 2nd graders who would be transitioning into the 3rd grade on a new campus. Kids are definitely our WHY we do what we do!

After school, several of our CES staff members took a picture together in front of our building We wrapped up the last student day and as I was driving home, I thanked God for such a sweet day with special memories.

It was such a sweet day, until it wasn’t…HORROR.

I made it home and I was telling my husband about the day. My cell phone rang shortly after I was home. There was a horrific car wreck that involved one of our students and his mom. A driver plowed through an intersection that afternoon on their way home from school. It was bad, very bad. This precious 2nd grader hugged me before he left that day. He told his teacher, “I’m gonna miss you this summer.” His teacher told him to have a great summer and that she loves him. It couldn’t be, I was with him not that long ago. The messages started to pour in along with unceasing prayers. The child passed away and the mom had a few injuries but would be okay physically. It was such a beautiful day, until it wasn’t.

HERO

My heart sank for the child’s mom & dad and his two precious sisters. My heart sank for his teachers, classmates and our community. This was the third student that our small rural district lost this year due to unforeseen tragedies. The next day which happened to be a Saturday, I drove to school and walked through the halls. I walked to the spot where he hugged me and we said goodbye. I walked into his classroom and prayed. My heart was hurting and I couldn’t imagine how the family was feeling at that very moment. I had to write a gut-wrenching letter to our students’ parents to send out. It wasn’t supposed to be this way, but it was. We have plans, but God has bigger plans.

The following Monday, we had a campus prayer time. Our music teacher sang and we shared a few stories, prayers and thoughts. His teacher who has a child in the same grade was hurting so much. It is so hard to lose a student in your classroom. She beautifully opened up her heart & soul to her students and their parents. There was an event in the student’s honor that night. His youth baseball team, the Astros would honor him. His family attended the game and his mom connected with her son’s hurting teammates. The hurting was there but healing was happening in the depths of their hearts. God was moving in a BIG way through the life of her child,

Tears and love poured out to the family and our community that day. While watching a tribute video from the baseball field event was the awe moment that his mom truly became my hero.

She leaned into those children and took in every story, every message, every soul of those that interacted with her and her family. She gave love when she was at her weakest and unknowingly became one of the strongest persons I have witnessed. God was moving through her in this healing process. At the funeral, she spoke and gave thanks to all for being there. She addressed her family, his classmates, teammates and community. She hugged every first responder that attended and expressed her gratitude for their service. She showered those around her with love. I can guarantee that those who attended the funeral went there to support the family, but left with blessings upon blessings from her tribute and the messages shared.

HEAVEN & HOPE

The Monday after this tragedy, the day of our campus gathering, we were also celebrating a bridal shower for a first year teacher. The future bride also had a tragic event in her life the day after the loss of our 2nd grader. Her grandfather, who was an icon in our community passed away. We thought about rescheduling but we decided to honor and celebrate the future bride and her new journey. God knew we needed that special time to end our Monday (staff development day) back at school. Her mom and sister attended the bridal shower alongside her. It was just a precious time of healing and hope.

The following day, Tuesday would be my retirement celebration. My office crew friends and more hosted a wonderful get together with my former and present colleagues. We laughed and loved BIG that day. These coworkers, teammates, friends of mine have been through thick and thin together. When you have been together for many years, you become family.

I was so appreciative of them, not only for coming but for their role in the hearts of helping students, families and our community. It was a moment when current staff intertwined with previous staff members. The retired educators are the teachers’ biggest cheerleaders, I thought to myself, this is what Heaven will be like. Friends welcoming friends into their heavenly home. The retired teachers were welcoming me into their community but at the same time were supporting the current teachers in their triumphs & hardships. There was laughter and love.

The past 32 years have been a blessing. There were some hard times for sure. However, it’s the heroes, friends and testimonies that give you never-ending hope. Don’t stand alone, develop relationships and lean into your friends. You need each other in the good and bad times. Education is hard but it is very much woven into the fabric of our communities.

I am grateful I got to hug that sweet 2nd grader before his entry into his heavenly home.

I am grateful that I had the opportunity to work with amazing teams throughout my years of education and service.

I am thankful for the heroes in my life such as our 2nd grader’s momma that shared her testimony through the passing of her son.

I am grateful for the hard times because I know good times will soon follow.

May your light shine in and out of the school walls each and everyday. Please know that there is a HOPE for a future.

Hugs to you & yours,

KL

December 26, 2014-May 19, 2023

4 responses to “Hugs-Horror-Hero-Hope”

  1. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ll forever be a HERO to our family, Kelly. Thank you for the years of love and devotion to the children who have been in your care.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Estela Cranford Avatar
    Estela Cranford

    Thank you for the great elementary school years you provided for my sons. Fast forward 11 years, Aaden will be a Freshman.
    Evan will be a Sophomore this next school year.
    When we moved to Canton; 11 years ago. We we’re excited and nervous to be in a new town. From day one, the town and CISD greeted us with open arms. Your compassion to listen to your students needs. To fight for all educational opportunities for them too.
    We were blessed. Thank you for all your dedication. 🙏🏾🙏🏾✝️

    Like

  4. lindseysbookclub Avatar
    lindseysbookclub

    You’re my hero💕

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started