Lean On Me

It was the Summer Olympics in Tokyo. After months and months of training, the runners were ready to compete. One runner was about to secure 2nd place in the semifinal heat of the 800 meter race. Then it happened, another runner collided with him. Two Runners from two different countries and cultures could of displayed anger and fury at one another. The public would certainly understand. However, they took the high road and helped each other to the finish line. Last place was not the dream they had envisioned. However, they displayed true character and made it to the end.

In education or most fields, leaning on one another is essential. Positive mentorship can create a synergy within the organization. To be honest, being a principal of a school is lonely at times. I could not have survived if I did not have guidance to help me along the way.

It is relevant to have a few mentors inside and outside of your organization. When I first started my career as a teacher, I had a coworker who excelled in her field. I was a first grade teacher at the time and she was a kindergarten teacher. She was instrumental in helping me learn how to individualize learning for different academic levels of students in a classroom. I knew how to individualize reading but she taught me to take it up a notch and level my instruction in ELA (English Language Arts) to better meet the needs of my students. Ms. Addis and I hired a substitute for our classrooms and we individualized papers, lessons and work for the entire 6 weeks. This was prior to the internet days so this process was tedious. This wonderful lady also taught me so much about character, grace and faith. I am thankful for the life lessons she taught me throughout my career.

Another mentor in my life is Grace. She is a retired elementary teacher, principal and assistant superintendent from a neighboring district. If I needed advice or a bit of wisdom, she was my go to person. She is also the greatest mother-in-law a girl could have.

Maybe you’re just starting your career or you feel stuck and you need a fresh perspective. Maybe you have the wisdom and experience to help someone along the way. If so, look into becoming a mentor for someone else.

Mentorship doesn’t have to be face-to-face but I truly believe that is the best way to connect. However, time is valuable and doesn’t always allow for in person meetings. There are a ton of online opportunities for mentorship. As a principal, I connected to some online groups that have really assisted me in recent times. The only thing I caution about online support is that things can get negative rather quickly. Practice discernment when posting, responding and receiving information,

Online Groups that have aided me in my journey:

Principal Principles Leadership Group & Stephanie McConnell (I follow this group and Stephanie on various platforms). Stephanie is a pioneer in supporting principals.

Principal Life & The Principal’S Desk (Facebook groups)

@kudosfromkortney (Newer principal that is energetic and has great school culture ideas on Instagram)

@gerrybrooks (Great when you need a good hard laugh)

These are just a few groups that helped me along the way. If you are a teacher, there are so many groups on social media that can assist you in your role and/or area of expertise.

Before I became an educator, I worked as a waitress in a fast paced restaurant called Houston’s. Believe it or not, it was a great training base for my principal role. Houston’s restaurant teaches their employees that every table is your table. If you are walking across the restaurant with a water pitcher, you fill the patron’s glass even if it’s not your table. Their customer service is phenomenal. That’s the mindset we need in education. Every student is our student because they are the future of our country. (Side note: Houston’s has the best Hawaiian steak). (BTW: I’m not getting paid to write this).

Leaning on one another is crucial in many jobs but it is a necessity in education. Don’t try and do it all by yourself. Seek someone who can help you through a tough patch. Find a group for some good & sound advice. Have people that you can lean into on a regular basis. You are not alone!

One of my biggest mentors has been my husband, Steve. A huge shoutout to him for being my biggest supporter throughout the years! You truly need a person outside of your field that can just listen or give you a different perspective.

Lastly, here is a little something extra to think about: The song, “Lean On Me” by Bill Withers was written about a man who lived in a rural area of Slab Fork, West Virginia. He moved to LA, California and longed for his small community in WVA because he was lonely. The song really resonated with its listeners.

Check it out:

https://youtu.be/Jrlhn1H1EWw

Remember educators, you do not have to stand alone. There are mentors around you for support. Just take the first step and ask for help. Develop those relationships!

Keep running the GOOD RACE! We are cheering you on to the FINiSH LINE.

Hugs from kl

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started